Whales and Lungs

I’ve been sick this week. In the middle of summer, somehow, pneumonia wormed its way into my lungs and has spread through my household. Of course, this has meant a good amount of sleep, not so much work, and waking hours spent binge-watching Once Upon A Time on Netflix.

Fairy tales are the source of so much inspiration for writers. They bring out our inner child or inner villain or hero or wizard. We retell them, reinvent them, completely reimagine them.

Currently, I’m working on a fantasy short story involving magic whales, and more specifically, elements from Moby Dick. While not a fantasy novel, this book has infuriated and inspired a great deal of people. Last month I finished re-reading one of my favorite reimaginings in China Miéville’s Railsea. If you haven’t read it, even if you haven’t read Moby Dick or if you read Moby Dick and hated it, go find a copy. It’s a quick read, if not an altogether easy one. The ocean and the railsea speak of infinite loss, an infinite journey, and ultimately, an infinite hope. If that doesn’t make a story worth your time, I don’t know what will.

I had a flash fiction piece, “In The Season Of Black Flags”, come out in the new issue of Dirty Chai this month, and am looking forward to seeing a very early flash of mine, “Film Preservation”, appear in Saturday Night Reader later this month.

My most exciting news today, came just this morning, in the form of an acceptance from Zetetic, which is a publication under the Empire & Great Jones Little Press which puts out such stellar magazines such as Spark: A Creative Anthology and Ember: A Journal of Luminous Things. I’ve been trying to find a piece that would fit well since they launched back in April. In a sense, they have been my white whale for these past five months, and the persistence has paid off. I am very pleased to have my poem “Postlude”, an exploration of a post-nuclear future, appear alongside the other brave, strange, and timely works they publish.

So, now, this pirate is going to go drink some rum for his cough and get some well earned rest.

Leave a Reply

